Data Menu

image

The Data Menu Contains:

If you are the owner of the dataset or have been given rights to edit the data, then any changes that you make to the dataset may be saved using the save options and this will overwrite the previous data

If you wish to preserve the original data and create a copy of the original with any changes, then the save as option should be used

Any unsaved changes to the data may be undone by using the Revert Changes option

Data Save

The save option is accessed from the Data option on the menu bar or the keyboard shortcut CTRL + S (CMD S for Mac) may be used

The option to save the data will depend on the user’s access level to the dataset and any unsaved changes that have been made to the dataset

The Save function will overwrite the open dataset with any changes as displayed in the changes section of the footer

image

If the user does not own or have edit rights to the dataset being accessed, then this will be indicated by the Read Only message being displayed in the header bar

image

When using the Data - Save option a summary of changes will be displayed as well as confirming the last modification date & time

image

Note: Once a dataset has been saved with any changes, the footer bar will reset and reverting changes will not be possible

Data Save as

Selecting the save as... option from the menu bar will open the save as window where you choose to either save a copy of the dataset with any changes without altering the base

image

Or you can choose to save as the dataset as a draft so that any changes may be imported into other datasets

image

For more detail on Drafts see Drafts

To view a video on the difference between Save and Save as click the thumbnail to open the video in a new browser tab

Save & Save as

Note: It is not possible to use the Save as option when working with linked datasets.
It is however possible to save as the From and To datasets, but they will need to be linked in Settings with the original links dataset first exported to csv and then uploaded to the newly created links dataset

Reload

The option to Reload data is useful when changes have been made to the dataset within settings while the dataset is open on workspace

image

Selecting either:

  • A. Reload option on Data menu
  • B. Reload button

Will reload the data for the current dataset and apply any changes made since dataset was last opened or refreshed

Trigger on demand

Select this option to run any On demand expressions in the dataset

See On Demand Expressions for more details

Export to CSV

Data from a dataset may be exported directly from Orgvue workspace to a CSV file for use outside Orgvue

Properties will be exported in the order they exist within the Dataset

To adjust the order of properties using the Property Manager in Settings see Reorder Properties

To export the content of a single slide to CSV see Export Canvas Content

NOTE: If you have chosen to export Properties generated by Orgvue (e.g. "depth") or a Property stored in the Pack then the following ordering will be used:
Properties stored in the Dataset, then Pack Properties (always in A-Z order) and then Orgvue generated properties (always in A-Z order).

To export the data from a dataset, select Data from the menu bar then Export to CSV image

The Export data to CSV window will then be presented where you can configure your export

image

There are two export options to configure

  1. Nodes: all nodes or just those currently selected. The number of nodes selected is shown in the footer

image

Note for detail on the different ways to select multiple nodes for export see Selecting Nodes

  1. Properties: all properties (including any evaluated and calculated property results) or export only those properties selected in the data tab

image

Note: Any dates properties are exported in ISO format YYYY-MM-DD

results matching ""

    No results matching ""

    results matching ""

      No results matching ""